Under the regulations mandated through the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), most American workers are entitled to a minimum wage and overtime wages for any hours worked beyond the standard 40 in a single calendar week. By violating these or various other wage or labor laws, employers may commit wage and hour violations that can lead to significant penalties.
Under both state and federal law, employers have a responsibility to maintain a reasonably safe work environment for their employees.
A newly released survey from the Pew Research Center indicates most Americans support paid family and medical leave.
Per state and federal law, an employer may check a job applicant’s or employee’s background, including for criminal records. However, it’s important for employers to ensure their compliance with laws and regulations that protect employees from discrimination.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law which applies in all states, and sets the floor for regulations concerning wages, overtime, and hourly work. The FLSA allows individual states to pass laws that go further than the federal law, extending the law more generously in favor of employees.
If you are an undocumented worker, you face a number of challenges in the workplace that documented laborers and U.S. citizens do not experience.
As labor law attorneys, our clients often ask us whether their employer can fire them in retaliation for filing a claim for unpaid wages.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) protects you against unfair practices by your employer, including improper payment of wages, overtime pay and tips. However, you can only enforce your rights if you comply with the time limits placed on filing lawsuits under the FLSA, which is known as the “statute of limitations.”
The Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”) generally requires that employees receive extra over time pay calculated at time and one-half (or 150%) of their regular rate of pay for each hour worked in over 40 hours in a week. However, the FLSA does not require that overtime pay be paid to employees who perform “executive,” “administrative,” or “professional” work. These are known as the “white collar” exemptions.
On April 4, 2016, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo signed a law which will significantly increase the minimum wage in New York State from the current rate of $9, to $15 by the end of 2018 for many businesses in New York City, and to $15 by the end of 2021 for the New York City commuter counties of Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester. The minimum wage for the remainder of the state will reach $12.50 by the end of 2020. In enacting this law, New York joins California as the only two states in the country, which have instituted a $15 minimum wage.
If you are paid on a salary basis, you may not have concerns about how you are classified by your employer.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law that imposes certain requirements on employers, including minimum wage, overtime pay and other work-related standards for full- and part-time employees.